'; } set_error_handler("scrrefcustomerror"); ?> '; fclose($fp); } ?>

About ABFM

Charter & Bylaws

The American Society for Public Administration ( ASPA ) recognizes the development of specialized areas of interest within its membership as important to the advancement of the aims and purposes of the Society. Accordingly, it has granted and approved the following Charter & Bylaws for the Association for Budgeting and Financial Management. This Charter & Bylaws are subject to the Constitution and Bylaws of the Society and to official ASPA policies governing the creation, evaluation, and termination of sections


ABFM Charter & Bylaws 137.14 KB 100 downloads

The American Society for Public Administration ( ASPA ) recognizes the development…

Officers & Executive Committee

ABFM is governed by a Board comprised of the following membership:

Zhirong "Jerry" Zhao
2023 Chair
Zhirong “Jerry” Zhao
University of Minnesota
Christine Martell
University of Colorado, Denver

Justin Ross
Vice Chair
Justin Ross
Indiana University
Immediate Past Chair
Robert Bland
University of North Texas
Hai "David" Guo
Hai “David” Guo
Florida International University
Robert "Bob" Buschman
Robert Buschman
Georgia State University

Executive Committee At-Large Members

Whitney Alfonso
Whitney Afonso
2021-2023 Term
University of North Carolina
at Chapel Hill
Can Chen
2023-2025 Term
Georgia State University
Christopher Goodman
2022-2024 Term
Northern Illinois University
Sarah Larson
2021-2023 Term
University of Central Florida
Kelly Shi
2023-2025 Term
(Asst. Treasurer)
University of North Texas
Michelle Lofton
2022-2024 Term
University of Georgia
Lang "Kate" Yang
Lang “Kate” Yang
2021-2023 Term
George Washington University
David Matkin
2023-2025 Term
Brigham Young University
Wie Yusuf
Wie Yusuf
2022-2024 Term
Old Dominion University

Selection of Officers & Executive Committee

Elected Members

Members elect a nine-member Executive Committee and the following Officers: Chair, Chair-Elect, Vice-Chair and Immediate Past-Chair.  Executive Committee members serve three-calendar-year terms, staggered so that three members are elected annually.

Chair of ABFM is a four-year progressive term, starting with election as Vice-Chair. The incumbent promotes to Chair-Elect for the second year, then Chair for the third year. The incumbent also serves one year in an advisory capacity as Immediate Past-Chair.

Appointed Members

The following positions are appointed by and serve at the discretion of the Chair:

  • Secretary
  • Treasurer
  • Archivist
  • Newsletter Editor
  • Membership Chair
  • Student Paper Award Coordinator
  • Conference Committee Chair

Past ABFM Chairs

Chair of ABFM is a one-year position that reflects a four-year commitment on part of a dedicated member to provide leadership and guidance to their fellow practitioners and researchers in public sector finance and budgeting.

2022Robert Bland
2021Jonathan Justice
2020Thad Calabrese
2019Justin Marlowe
2018Bryan Sullivan
2017Dan Smith
2016Carolyn Bourdeaux
2015Robert Kravchuk
2014Charles Menified
2013Scott Pattison
2012James D. Savage
2011Carol Ebdon
2010Dwight V. Denison
2009Katherine Willoughby
2008Rebecca Hendrick
2007Robert J. Eger III
2006John Bartle
2005Kurt Thurmaier
2004Wes Clarke
2003Jocelyn Johnston
2002Beverly Bunch
2001John Forrester
2000Paul Posner
1999Merl Hackbart
1998Fred Thompson
1997Karen Stanford
1996Robert D. Lee, Jr.
1995Marylin M. Rubin
1994W. Bartley Hildreth
1993L.R. Jones
1992John Mikesell