Officers & Executive Committee


ABFM is governed by a Board comprised of the following membership:

PositionNameInstitution/AgencyTerm Length
ChairThad CalabreseNew York University2020
Chair-ElectJonathan JusticeUniversity of Delaware2020
(Chair 2021)
Vice-ChairRobert BlandUniversity of North Texas2020
(Chair-Elect 2021)
(Chair 2022)
Immediate Past ChairJustin MarloweUniversity of Chicago2020
Secretary/ArchivistRobert BuschmanGeorgia State University2020
TreasurerHai (David) GuoFlorida International University2019
Newsletter EditorKenneth HunterCity of Rocky Mount, North Carolina, & North Carolina State University2019
Executive CommitteeWhitney AfonsoUniversity of North Carolina at Chapel Hill2018-2020
Executive CommitteeBeverly BunchUniversity of Illinois-Springfield2018-2020
Executive CommitteeJoseph CordesGeorge Washington University2018-2020
Executive CommitteeGang ChenUniversity at Albany, SUNY2019-2021
Executive CommitteePeter van der HoekBucharest University of Economic Studies, Romania, & Ternopil National Economic University, Ukraine2019-2021
Executive CommitteeWie YusufOld Dominion University2019-2021
Executive CommitteeCarla FlinkAmerican University2020-2022
Executive CommitteeJustin RossIndiana University2020-2022
Executive CommitteeWenli YanVirginia Commonwealth University2020-2022

Current Officers

Thad-Calabrese2020 Chair
Thad Calabrese
New York University

Justice_Jonathan2020 Chair-Elect
Jonathan Justice
University of Delaware



Robert Bland 2017-2019 Term University of North Texas
Vice Chair
Robert Bland
University of North Texas

David Guo

Hai (David) Guo
Florida International

Robert Buschman
Robert Buschman
Georgia State University
Immediate Past Chair
Justin Marlowe
University of Washington

Executive Committee At-Large Members

Afonso_2012_MG_0205 web_1Whitney Afonso
2018-2020 Term
University of North
Carolina at Chapel Hill
BeverlyhallBeverly Bunch
2018-2020 Term
University of Illinois-
Joe Cordes v1Joseph Cordes
2018-2020 Term
George Washington

cheng_150pxGang Chen
2019-2021 Term
University of Albany,
Peter Van Der Hoek 2016-2018 Term University of Economics Bucharest, Romania

Peter Van Der Hoek
2019-2021 Term
University of Economics
Ternopil National
Economic University

Wie Yusuf

Wie Yusuf
2019-2021 Term
Old Dominion

 Carla Flink
Carla Flink
2020-2022 Term
American University
 Justin Ross
Justin Ross
2020-2022 Term
Indiana University
Wenli Yan
Wenli Yan
2020-2022 Term
Virginia Commonwealth University

Selection of Officers & Executive Committee

Elected Members

Members elect a nine-member Executive Committee and the following Officers: Chair, Chair-Elect, Vice-Chair and Immediate Past-Chair.  Executive Committee members serve three-calendar-year terms, staggered so that three members are elected annually.

Chair of ABFM is a four-year progressive term, starting with election as Vice-Chair. The incumbent promotes to Chair-Elect for the second year, then Chair for the third year. The incumbent also serves one year in an advisory capacity as Immediate Past-Chair.

Appointed Members

The following positions are appointed by and serve at the discretion of the Chair:

  • Secretary
  • Treasurer
  • Archivist
  • Newsletter Editor
  • Membership Chair
  • Student Paper Award Coordinator
  • Conference Committee Chair

Elected members can serve in these capacities.