

Nominations are now being accepted for the

S. Kenneth Howard Award

Nominations due August 1, 2023

The S. Kenneth Howard Award was established in 1986, in memory of S. Kenneth Howard, to honor lifetime achievement by a practitioner in the field of budgeting and financial management. S. Kenneth Howard was a faculty member at UNC Chapel Hill and held a joint appointment in the Department of Political Science and the Institute of Government. Dr. Howard also played a key role in establishing the University's Master of Public Administration degree program at UNC.

The Howard Award is presented annually to recognize the exemplary work and professional integrity of an individual who has devoted a significant part of his or her public service career to the advancement of public budgeting and financial management. Several winners of the S. Kenneth Howard Award have divided their careers between the academy and the practitioner world. A person nominated for the award may have moved similarly between academia and practice or may have contributed to learning and the advancement of knowledge through significant work as an adjunct faculty member, continuing education instructor, or trainer, or through other educational activities.

Nominations should include the nominee's full name and affiliation; a description of the nominee's career achievements including information on their work in the public sector and in educational activities; and a curriculum vitae or résumé if available. See https://abfm.org/about-abfm/awards/ for a list of past recipients.

Nominations should be sent by August 1, 2023, to the chair of the S. Kenneth Howard Award Committee: Bob Bland bbland@unt.edu. Please include "ABFM Howard Award Nomination" in the subject line. You will receive confirmation from Robert Bland.

The full S. Kenneth Howard Award Committee will determine the honoree for 2023.